TAC presents 2020 awards in virtual ceremony

17 December 2020

TAC – the Tunnelling Association of Canada – recently held a virtual ceremony to present its 2020 TAC Achievement Awards.

The winners were:

Lifetime Achievement Award: Richard Staples

Young Tunneller of the Year Award: Connor Langford and Andre Solecki

Canadian Innovation Initiative Award: McLoughlin Point Wastewater Treatment Plant Cross Harbour Force Main and Outfall (Harbour Resource Partners, an AECOM, Graham Construction Joint Venture, Michels and CRD)

Canadian Project of the Year Award (up to CA$100m): Riverside Stormwater Interceptor (Ward & Burke Microtunnelling, Les Entreprises Michaudville, CIMA+, Golder, Hatch, ABS and la Ville de Saint-Lambert)

Canadian Project of the Year Award (over CA$100m): Eglinton Crosstown LRT Mined Stations (Laird, Avenue and Oakwood) by Crosslinx Transit Solutions Joint Venture (Dragados, AECON, Ellis Don and SNC Lavalin, along with Dr Sauer and Partners, gGravity and Metrolinx)

Photo of the Year Award: Ashbridges Bay Treatment Plant Outfall Shaft and Starter Tunnel (Hatch)

Dan Eisenstein Memorial Scholarship: Madison Kennedy

TAC Undergraduate Scholarship: Graham Swarbrick

Encompassing Canadian, North American and international individuals and firms, the Tunnelling Association of Canada promotes and advances Canadian tunnelling and underground excavation technologies. Due to the coronavirus pandemic, the 2020 TAC annual conference was cancelled. It has been rescheduled to take place as TAC 2020-One Toronto on Oct 19-21 2021.